My project is going to be a documentary about teenagers in 2017. It fill focus on different problems teens in 2017 may be dealing with. I want to address the different problems teens have, educate people on them and show that it is okay to be different. I feel that some things in todays society are not talked about or talked about enough, and they should be talked about more and accepted because they are normal things. I want to look at thing such a sexuality, being transgender and fitting in. I want to look at these because they affect a lot of people around me and sometimes even me personally.

Mind mao

A key areas I need to develop my knowledge would be the structure of a documentary. What to film, and how to film it, what makes a documentary. I have watched many different types and I am starting to understand the main structure of a documentary.

Survey:

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/B3PYDF2

I have made a survey to see how much people like documentary’s. At the end of the week I will look at all the responses and analyse them. I made this survey because I wanted to find out if people enjoy watching documentary’s and what kinds, so I could incorporate them into my short documentary so I would have a bigger audience.

Results do ulik edocs

This was the first question on my survey. 52 people out of 57 answered ‘yes’ to the question ‘Do you enjoy watching documentaries?’ This is more than 90% of the people who took the survey. This is a good results for me a I am making a documentary and no one answered ‘no’. There was 5 people who answered in the ‘other’ and in this category they mostly answered ‘depends on the type of documentary’ and ‘maybe’.

tpes opd cod

This is the second question in my survey. I asked ‘what type of documentary you be most likely to watch?’ I made it so the person could pick more than one option. The top answer picked was crime and the second most popular was real life. For my extended project I am making a real life documentary about teenagers. These results helped me because I was able to see what kind of documentary’s the public like and they are most likely to watch.

wopuld u

For this question I asked the people taking the survey if they would watch a documentary about teenage life. Over 70% answered yes, this is a really good response because the majority would be interested in watching the documentary I will make.

worng one

This question did not work very well and I do not think people understood it well. If I was to do this question again I would ask the audience if  they would watch a documentary that was under 10 minutes, not how long they would want one to be, because most people said 60 minutes and I would not be able to make an hour long documentary.

Location Research

I visited each of my locations to make sure there was a space I was able to film in, and good natural light as I not using artificial light.

Locations:

  • College – Joey, Fin, Sara

I decided to film Joey, Fin and Sara in college. I chose this location because it had big windows and good natural lighting. This place in college is also reasonably quiet so we did not have many disturbances.

  • 24 Minster Road, Ramsgate – Alice

I decided to film in Alice’s conservatory as it had good natural lighting and had a suitable place for me to place the camera to film easily.

 

 

 

 

 

 

